Flood situation ‘getting better’ in 15 provinces

Latest Interesting Stories
Aid is being accelerated to 15 flood-hit provinces, the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation said on Sunday.

The 15 affected provinces are: Nan, Phrae, Chiang Mai, Lampang, Phayao, Uttaradit, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Sukhothai, Tak, Phitsanulok, Kalasin, Nakhon Phanom, Khon Kaen and Singburi.

Department director-general Chayabol Thitisak revealed that the influence of the monsoon lay across the North and the upper Northeast, together with the southwest monsoon prevailing over the upper Andaman Sea and the Gulf of Thailand since August 20. This had brought flash floods, windstorms and landslides to 15 provinces. Overall, 62 districts, 221 sub-districts, 959 villages and 20,878 households had been affected.

At present, the situation has resolved in 14 provinces but there is still flooding in Phitsanulok, Chayabol said, adding people in 17 households were still affected though the water level was decreasing steadily. He predicted that without additional rain or extra water in the area, the situation would return to normal within 1-2 days.