Four new BTS stations ready to open in June

Latest Interesting Stories
Test runs to four new BTS Skytrain stations beyond Kasetsart University station (N13) have started since April 8, Manit Techa-apichoke, president of the Bangkok Metropolitan Administration-owned Krungthep Thanakhom Co, said.

Bangkok Mass Transit System Pcl is the operator of BTS Skytrain.

“The four new stations are: the Royal Forest Department (N14), Bang Bua (N15), 11th Infantry Regiment (N16) and Wat Phra Sri Mahathat (N17),” he said. “We are in the process of dynamic tests, in which we run one or two empty trains a day to test the efficiency of the track management system,” he said.

Manit added that passengers will be able to board trains during test runs in May and the extended route will officially open in June.

“The test runs in the past week showed satisfactory results with all systems running optimally,” he added. “Almost 100 per cent of necessary equipment have already been installed at the four stations. We also make sure that the new stations are in compliance with the government’s social distancing policies to prevent the spreading of Covid-19 by using signs, checkpoints and barriers to minimise crowdedness in the station and platform areas. We also offer temperature checking service and hand gel disperser to all commuters.”

The extended Sukhumvit Line is scheduled to terminate at Ku Kot station (N24), which is slated to open by the end of 2020.